Black Moth premiere first song from UK breakout debut album via, U.S. release in Fall

By Chris Dahlberg

Published on Monday, August 19, 2013

Leeds’ Black Moth has announced their debut album The Killing Jar will get a North American release on October 1st. The album came out in the UK last year and generated quite a bit of buzz, and it’s easy to see why. Check out the song “The Articulate Dead” and a video for “Blackbirds Fall” below to get an idea of what the group sounds like. I dig what they’re going for, as it’s got some noisier ideas mixed in with some bluesy grooves. Black Moth is currently working on a follow up and has North American tour dates planned for 2014.

“Punishing, pummeling riff-rock that splits the difference between Queens of the Stone Age and Black Sabbath. Better yet, singer Harriet Bevan can growl and howl with the best of ’em, but she also packs a wicked riot-grrrl shout.” — SPIN

“Rampant heaviosity with ferocious invention. One of the finest debut albums you’ll hear all year” — Kerrang


Britain’s young new heavy rock heroes Black Moth announce the North American release of the band’s breakout UK debut coming in October. The first track from The Killing Jar premieres today courtesy of Listen to “The Articulate Dead” HERE.

The Leeds, UK quintet led by Harriet Bevan’s powerful vocals evokes comparisons to female-fronted noise punk like Silverfish and Made Out of Babies to classic bluesy doom of early Black Sabbath. Theirs is a sound that encompasses a wide variety of all things loud, aggressive and heavy. The Killing Jar was produced by Grinderman and Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds drummer Jim Sclavunos, whose production of The Horrors, Gogol Bordello and others have earned considerable praise. “Black Moth reminds me of my misspent youth,” says Sclavunos. And, judging by the all out assault that he’s crafted with the Moth, he must have been a very bad boy indeed.

In the months since upstart label New Heavy Sounds released the Leeds’ quintet’s debut, Black Moth quickly catapulted to headlining status and festival stages throughout the UK and Europe — including Reading Festival, Download and Leeds Festivals. While the band is already currently in the studio working on a second album — again with Sclavunos at the helm — North American tour dates are in the works for early 2014.

Black Moth are five kids on a mission. Harriet Bevan – vocals, Jim Swainston – guitar, Nico Carew – guitar, Dave Vachon – bass, and drummer Dom McCready. Formed out of the ashes of Leeds garage rockers The Bacchae, the band were seduced by the brutal and hypnotic lure of the riff, to emerge as the ferocious kick-ass heavy rock outfit that is Black Moth. Now their debut album The Killing Jar a dark and intense riff monster if ever there was one, is set loose growling and snarling into your local record emporium.

The Moth’s fearsome edges have been honed into lobotomizing sharp points to create 10 tracks of nail-you-to-the-wall heavy riffs, dark noise and infectious hooks. The band’s influences are obviously ingrained in their sound. Think proto-metal, stoner rock, a healthy slice of Black Sabbath, several shades of punk, and a big dollop of doom. The riffs are crushing, the sound is huge and it’s all knitted together by Harriet Bevan’s formidable vocals. From blues howl to punky wail and several shades of darkness in-between, Harriet is surely destined to become one of the girl singers in rock.

But what’s really startling is how the band take all the music that they obviously love and turn it into something that is truly their own, prime rock nuggets with a razorblade at the core. The Killing Jar is the epitome of what all debut albums should be: an exhilarating statement of intent and smart and savvy musical kick in the face.

The Killing Jar will be available in North America on CD, download and limited edition vinyl on October 1st via New Heavy Sounds.


Artist: Black Moth
Album: The Killing Jar
Label: New Heavy Sounds
Release Date: October 1st, 2013

01. The Articulate Dead

02. Blackbirds Fall

03. Banished But Blameless

04. Spit Out Your Teeth

05. The Plague of Our Age

06. Chicken Sh*t

07. Blind Faith

08. Plastic Blaze

09. Land of The Sky

10. Honey Lung


On The Web:

Leave a Reply