Cancers share new song with Brooklyn Vegan; debut LP ‘Fatten the Leeches’ out 9/16

By Chris Dahlberg

Published on Sunday, August 3, 2014

Cancers will release their debut album Fatten the Leeches on September 16th. The Athens based group has released two tracks from the album, which can be streamed below. Their sound reminds me quite a bit of the Subpop bands from the 90s with some additional influences that keep their tracks from sounding like a mere homage to the past. Fatten the Leeches also seems to go for a clearer production than many of the groups going for this same sound, as rather than upping the noise level there is a decent amount of space between the instrumentals and vocals which works to their advantage. Cancers has my attention, and I’m looking forward to hearing the rest of their debut next month.

Cancers are an Athens-based alternative love child born to Ella Kaspar and Lenny Miller by way of Vancouver, Canada and New York City. The two met while toiling away on tour with their respective previous bands, and joined together out of a desire to craft their own music free from compromise. The result consists of crushing melodies, dreamy pop girl vocals, and new alternative guitars. While Cancers’ sound does evoke familiar grunge-era angst, Kaspar’s airy vocals, comparable to Beach House’s Victoria Legrand, distinguish the band from their predecessors, marrying vulnerability with sex.


Cancers – “Be Cool”
via Soundcloud or Bitch Magazine

Cancers – “Moral Net”
via Soundcloud or Brooklyn Vegan


With their debut album Fatten the Leeches, the couple crawl hand-in-hand through anguish, alienation, despair and into the light. Tired of being pigeon-holed in the lo-fi DIY of their past, the band enlisted Jack Endino to produce the album. Endino’s early work with Seattle heavy-weights like Nirvana, Hole, Babes in Toyland and Soundgarden, established him as a king of underground rock records, and has been referred to as “the godfather of grunge.” Fatten the Leeches delivers, resolving Cancer’s adolescent lust for distortion and riffs with a satisfying pop sheen.

Recorded at Soundhouse Studio in Seattle, Fatten the Leeches will be released on CD & digital format on September 16 by their own label Kandy Kane Records, while Dead Broke Rekerds handles the cassette and vinyl.


Track Listing:

01. Be Cool
02. Punxlose
03. Moral Net
04. Hole In My Head
05. Liar
06. I Change
07. Glaciers
08. Razorblade
09. Sick
10. Dig


Artist: Cancers
Album: Fatten the Leeches
Release Date: 09.16.14
Label: Kandy Kane Records / Dead Broke Rekerds



Leave a Reply