CONCORD AMERICA Premieres new single via SPIN + Announces debut EP due 5/27/14

By Chris Dahlberg

Published on Monday, April 7, 2014

Concord America will release their EP Suns Out Guns Out on May 27th via Post-Echo. The trio is based out of Atlanta and released the title track of the EP, which you can stream below. It’s the type of high energy garage rock that takes influence from the genre’s earlier days and doesn’t waste any time with intros or interludes. If the title track is anything to go by, these guys are going to have plenty of great hooks so I’m definitely looking forward to hearing the rest. Additional details are below.

Based out of Atlanta, Concord America is a trio consisting of brothers John and Vinny Restivo and friend Ben Presley. Claiming influences like Black Lips, Pixies and Cage The Elephant, the group formed around their mutual love for Rock & Roll but found their unique sound in areas ranging from classic Garage and late-50’s Doo-Wop all the way to Proto Grunge, Power-Pop and the modern Surf Revival.

The Restivo brothers were a natural rhythm section from the start. “John was already drumming and put the idea in my head to play bass,” says Vinny. Until the three met at their job in a seedy pizza joint, the teen brothers were playing in the bands you might expect to find in suburban garages across America. “What really made us want to start a band with Ben,” John says, “is that we saw him get past security at a Cage the Elephant show. He jumped on stage during “Ain’t No Rest for the Wicked” in short shorts, suspenders, combat boots and a sailor hat and did a stage dive.” Guitarist and singer Ben Presley seemed to be just the catalyst John and Vinny needed. In 2013, Concord America released their debut LP, Shag Nasty- a blistering lo-fi rock record that solidified the dynamic between Presley and the Restivo brothers.

Today, the band is announcing their forthcoming EP, Suns Out Guns Out, and sharing its title track. The first single is a perfect distillation of the what listeners can expect from the EP when it is released on May 27 via Post-Echo. Speaking about the track, SPIN writes, “the boys blister their hands even faster over nearly two minutes of guitar snarls, rallying the mosh pit with the hook, ‘Don’t worry about the future ’cause we’re all gonna die / Let’s drink the night away.’ Cheers to that.” Check out the track and all EP info below.

STREAM: “Suns Out Guns Out” –


“These boys have been taking the Atlanta music scene by storm for over a year now, maturing steadily from tossing glitter into audiences everywhere to playing some serious rock-meets-punk-meets-beach-meets-grunge-meets-doo-wop…”


“Cute but absolutely ready to thrash, Concord America hails from Atlanta, GA, and blew us away when we saw them play Mercy Lounge.”





(May 27th, Post-Echo)

1. Howlin’ at the Moon
2. Vanilla Bastard
3. Crown Vic
4. So Gay
5. Hippie Trash
6. Iced Out
7. Suns Out Guns Out

Leave a Reply