Crushed Stars Farewell Young Lovers Out January 21; Download “Flowerbomb” at Rolling Stone

By Chris Dahlberg

Published on Monday, November 11, 2013

So far this is turning out to be one of those Mondays where great new music hits my inbox on an hourly basis. The latest to come through is the song “Flowerbomb” from the upcoming Crushed Stars album Farewell Young Lovers. This release is due out January 21st from Simulcra Records, and “Flowerbomb” has already grabbed my attention with its soft instrumental work and sprawled out vocals. Check out the song and additional details below.

Rolling Stone has premiered “Flowerbomb” from the new Crushed Stars album, Farewell Young Lovers out January 21 on Simulacra Records. Crushed Stars’ Todd Gautreau told Rolling Stone,
“This will sound like a cliché, but I was standing in a cafe line and was intrigued by the fragrance of the person in front of me, so I asked what it was,” Todd Gautreau tells Rolling Stone. “She answered Flowerbomb, which I thought was an interesting word since you don’t normally associate the gentleness of a flower with the intensity of an explosion. So I was inspired to write a song about a hypothetical girl who would have both of these qualities.”

Farewell Young Lovers was recorded with Grammy winning producer Stuart Sikes (White Stripes, Modest Mouse, Cat Power) and once again most of the instruments were handled by Todd Gautreau who is joined by drummer Jeff Ryan (War on Drugs, Baptist Generals). Crushed Stars beautiful form of quiet indie pop features hints of Red House Painters, The Clientele, Lambchop and Low with previous efforts have receiving glowing reviews from prominent outlets such as Under The Radar, Pitchfork, Stereogum and many others.

Tracks on Farewell Young Lovers range from the effervescent opener “Flowerbomb” to the moody instrumental centerpiece “Poppies” to the Jesus and Mary Chain meets Stax “Haters” alongside several tracks of the dreamy psychedelia the band is known for. Other surprises include a guest theremin player on “Fly” and the first crushed stars guitar solo on “Supernova” with a second one superimposed for good measure.

Drummer Jeff Ryan says, “It seems there’s a new sense of energy woven into these new tracks, there are more textures and electronics expanding the musical landscape. The straightforward harder songs like “Flowerbomb” and “Haters” show a musical side that hasn’t been seen before from us, even though there’s still a common thread between these songs and the others on the album.”


Farewell Young Lovers Track Listing

1. Flowerbomb

2. Fantastic Birds

3. Our Interest In Claire

4. This Happens Every Time

5. Fly

6. Poppies

7. Haters

8. Supernova

9. Crocodiles


For more info, please visit:

Leave a Reply