John Mellencamp 1978- 2012, Career-spanning box set coming December 10th!

By Chris Dahlberg

Published on Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Universal Music is getting ready to release a comprehensive box set of John Mellencamp’s music, which will have 19 CDs and 223 tracks that span his 35 year career. The box set will be out on December 10th and retails for $139.88. It is available to pre-order via Amazon at this location. Check out a short unboxing video and additional details about this collection below.


John Mellencamp 1978 – 2012, a uniquely comprehensive boxed set collection covering the legendary singer/songwriter’s principal studio albums, will be released by Universal Music Enterprises on December 10. Pre-orders now at ensure holiday delivery. The collection consists of a total of 19 CDs originally released over a recording career that spans 35 years.

John Mellencamp 1978- 2012, for the first time, combines in one package, albums Mellencamp recorded as John Cougar, John Cougar Mellencamp and John Mellencamp for Polygram, Universal, Sony and Concord-affiliated labels. The set contains a total of 223 tracks and includes such mythic album titles as American Fool, Lonesome Jubilee, Scarecrow, Cuttin’ Heads and the more recent Life, Death Love and Freedom and No Better Than This. Thirteen of the albums in the collection were RIAA®-certified as Gold, Platinum or Multiplatinum winners while ten of the albums achieved Top Ten status on Billboard’s Top 100 Album Chart. Of special note is the fact that the collection includes the long out-of-print original soundtrack album to Falling From Grace, the Mellencamp-directed film that was a collaboration with noted author Larry McMurty. That disc includes tracks by Mellencamp, Dwight Yoakam, Nanci Griffith, Joe Ely, James McMurtry and John Prine.

John Mellencamp 1978- 2012 includes every one of Mellencamp’s thirty Billboard Top 100 singles, from “I Need A Lover” and “Jack & Diane” to “Pink Houses” and “Rain On The Scarecrow,” as well as such classics as “Paper in Fire,” “Hurts So Good,” “Crumblin’ Down,” “Jackie Brown,” “Small Town,” “Wild Night,” “R.O.C.K In The U.S.A.,” “Our Country” and, quite literally, all the rest. There are bonus tracks concluding twelve of the albums, sourced from the 2005 re-mastered versions of Mellencamp’s Mercury releases.

Mellencamp, who continues to reside in his native Indiana, has been especially active of late. Ghost Brothers of Darkland County, his collaboration with bestselling author Stephen King and musical director T Bone Burnett, has manifested itself as a touring theatrical entity with dates throughout the Midwest this fall. An accomplished painter, Mellencamp has had numerous gallery exhibitions of his work; the latest, his first museum exhibition, is set to open next month at the Butler Institute of American Art in Youngstown, Ohio.

In recent years Mellencamp was the recipient of Billboard’s Century Award, the Woody Guthrie Award, The ASCAP Foundation’s Champion Award, The John Steinbeck Award as well as induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. This past week it was announced that John Mellencamp is a candidate for induction into the Songwriters Hall of Fame. Mellencamp holds the record for the most tracks (7) by a solo artist to hit the top position on Billboard’s Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks Chart, all of which are, of course, included in John Mellencamp 1978 – 2012.

Never content to rest on his many laurels, Mellencamp has been writing new songs for an album he plans to record early this coming year, once more with T Bone Burnett slated to produce.


Track listing: John Mellencamp 1978 – 2012


John Cougar

1. A Little Night Dancin’

2. Small Paradise

3. Miami

4. Great Mid-west

5. Do You Think That’s Fair

6. I Need A Lover

7. Welcome To Chinatown

8. Sugar Marie

9. Pray For Me

10. Taxi Dancer

11. Take Home Pay (Bonus Track)


Nothin’ Matters And What If It Did

1. Hot Night In A Cold Town

2. Ain’t Even Done With The Night

3. Don’t Misunderstand Me

4. This Time

5. Make Me Feel

6. To M.G. (Wherever She May Be)

7. Tonight

8. Cry Baby

9. Wild Angel

10. Peppermint Twist

11. Cheap Shot

12. Latest Game (Bonus Track)


American Fool

1. Hurts So Good

2. Jack & Diane

3. Hand To Hold On To

4. Danger List

5. Can You Take It

6. Thundering Hearts

7. China Girl

8. Close Enough

9. Weakest Moments

10. American Fool (Bonus Track)



1. Crumblin’ Down

2. Pink Houses

3. Authority Song

4. Warmer Place To Sleep

5. Jackie O

6. Play Guitar

7. Serious Business

8. Lovin’ Mother Fo Ya

9. Golden Gates

10. Pink Houses (acoustic version) (Bonus Track)



1. Rain On The Scarecrow

2. Grandma’s Theme

3. Small Town

4. Minutes To Memories

5. Lonely Ol’ Night

6. The Face Of The Nation

7. Justice And Independence ‘85

8. Between A Laugh And A Tear

9. Rumbleseat

10. You’ve Got To Stand For Somethin’

11. R.O.C.K. In The U.S.A. (A Salute To 60’s Rock)

12. The Kind Of Fella I Am

13. Small Town (acoustic version) (Bonus Track)


The Lonesome Jubilee

1. Paper In Fire

2. Down And Out In Paradise

3. Check It Out

4. The Real Life

5. Cherry Bomb

6. We Are The People

7. Empty Hands

8. Hard Times For An Honest Man

9. Hotdogs And Hamburgers

10. Rooty Toot Toot

11. Blues From The Front Porch (Bonus Track)


Big Daddy

1. Big Daddy Of Them All

2. To Live

3. Martha Say

4. Theo And Weird Henry

5. Jackie Brown

6. Pop Singer

7. Void In My Heart

8. Mansions In Heaven

9. Sometimes A Great Notion

10. Country Gentleman

11. J.M.’s Question

12. Let It All Hang Out

13. Jackie Brown (acoustic version) (Bonus Track)


Whenever We Wanted

1. Love And Happiness

2. Now More Than Ever

3. I Ain’t Ever Satisfied

4. Get A Leg Up

5. Crazy Ones

6. Last Chance

7. They’re So Tough

8. Melting Pot

9. Whenever We Wanted

10. Again Tonight

11. Love And Happiness (London Club Mix) (Bonus Track)


Falling From Grace-Original Soundtrack Album

1. Bud’s Theme (instrumental) – Lisa Germano

2. Cradle Of The Interstate – Nanci Griffith

3. Whiskey Burnin’ – Larry Crane

4. Common Day Man – Dwight Yoakam

5. It Don’t Scare Me None – John Mellencamp

6. Searchin’ For The Perfect Girl – Pure Jam

7. All The Best – John Prine

8. Hold Me Like You Used To Do – Qkumbrz

9. Sweet Suzanne – Buzzin’ Cousins

10. Nothing’s For Free – John Mellencamp

11. Little Children (instrumental) – Lisa Germano

12. Days Like These – Janis Ian

13. Falling From Grace – Larry Rollins


Human Wheels

1. When Jesus Left Birmingham

2. Junior

3. Human Wheels

4. Beige To Beige

5. Case 795 (The Family)

6. Suzanne And The Jewels

7. Sweet Evening Breeze

8. What If I Came Knocking

9. French Shoes

10. To The River

11. When Jesus Left Birmingham (Bonus Track)

Leave a Reply