KUOLEMANLAAKSO set release date for new EP on SVART

By Chris Dahlberg

Published on Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Finnish death/doom band Kuolemanlaakso has announced they will be releasing a new EP entitled Muta aurinko nousee on Svart Records. The Ep will be out on digipack CD and 12″ vinyl on November 29th. Check out a song from the EP and additional details below.

Today, SVART RECORDS announces November 29th as the international release date for KUOLEMANLAAKSO’s Musta aurinko nousee EP. This forthcoming EP includes three new KUOLEMANLAAKSO songs, and a captivating cover version of Juice Leskinen’s classic by the same name. The EP will be released as a limited digipak CD and a strictly limited 12” vinyl with three different colors (100 copies per color). The title track to KUOLEMANLAAKSO’s Musta aurinko nousee, which features a guest guitar solo from V. Santura, can be heard here: https://soundcloud.com/svart-records/kuolemanlaakso-musta-aurinko

In 2012, the Finnish doom-death scene saw newcomer KUOLEMANLAAKSO ascend directly to the ranks of its elite with the critically acclaimed SVART debut Uljas uusi maailma, which reached #42 on the Official Finnish Album Chart and #6 on the Rumba Chart. In support of Uljas uusi maailma, KUOLEMANLAAKSO toured its native country, hitting some of Finland’s biggest and most respected clubs, then adding a performance at the 2013 Tuska Open Air Festival.

Feeding off of this momentum, KUOLEMANLAAKSO planned new material on the road and entered a secret, secluded location in the forests of Finland, once again with acclaimed producer/engineer/guitarist V. Santura (Woodshed Studios, Dark Fortress, Celtic Frost, Triptykon). In the course of writing and recording, it was soon made obvious that KUOLEMANLAAKSO had not only enough material for a full-length album, but for an EP, as well.

“Our goal was to create the tightest and most balanced entities for both releases. The EP introduces our current style in a more straightforward and shorter form, whereas the full-length evolved into something more epic,” states guitarist/keyboardist and main songwriter Laakso. “The EP tracks are quite different from one other, with each song displaying a different side of the band and what we are capable of.” Cover and tracklisting for KUOLEMANLAAKSO’s Musta aurinko nousee are as follows:


Tracklisting for KUOLEMANLAAKSO’s Musta aurinko nousee
1. Me vaellamme yössä (edit)
2. Tulenväki
3. Kalmoskooppi
4. Musta aurinko nousee



Leave a Reply