MORBUS CHRON announces details for new album, ‘Sweven’

By Chris Dahlberg

Published on Sunday, January 19, 2014

Morbus Chron’s debut full length Sleepers in the Rift impressed me back in 2011, but I felt like they had the potential to get even better as they kept growing. In 2012 the band signed to Century Media and released the A Saunter Through The Shroud MLP. Nearly two years later the group is back with their sophomore full length Sweven, which will be out on March 4th in North America. New music hasn’t surfaced just yet, but I have embedded a track from A Saunter Through The Shroud below, which shows some progression from the debut. Full details about Sweven are below, as well as a list of upcoming European dates with Necrowretch.

Sweden’s MORBUS CHRON will release their second full-length album, Sweven, on February 24th in Europe and on March 4th in North America via Century Media Records.

After the release of their highly praised debut album, Sleepers In The Rift (2011), MORBUS CHRON conquered new grounds with their critically acclaimed A Saunter Through The Shroud MLP in 2012. This 3-track release showed a development that only a few bands dare to achieve. While still being heavily influenced by AUTOPSY, MORBUS CHRON embedded progressive elements in their music, opening up their sound to other musical influences.

With Sweven, MORBUS CHRON continues to develop their sound, intertwining dark death metal with progressive song structures and melodies that are reminiscent of bands such as ATHEIST, VOIVOD, CORONER and late-DEATH. The end result is still, without a doubt, an extreme metal album, but it’s much more than that. The (often scarcely used) tormented voice of MORBUS CHRON’s mastermind Robert Andersson, the warm, yet gripping production of Fred Estby (ex-DISMEMBER, DAGGER), the psychedelic harmonies, and the overall complexity of Sweven will set the band apart from the rest. This is not your regular dose of death metal.


Sweven will be released in the following formats:

–Standard CD jewelcase with 24-page booklet

–Deluxe LP with 180 g vinyl, matte-laminated cover and 12-page booklet in LP size (EU import at CM Distro)

–Digital download



**Venues to be announced soon**



Robert Andersson – guitars, vocals

Edvin Aftonfalk – lead guitars

Dag Landin – bass

Adam Lindmark – drums



Leave a Reply