Nicole Atkins Offers New Song; Announces Tour

By Chris Dahlberg

Published on Friday, December 13, 2013

Singer/songwriter Nicole Atkins has released the first song from her upcoming album Slow Phaser, which will be out on February 4th. “Girl You Look Amazing” premiered earlier today via Paste and you can also stream it below. Atkins will be touring in support of the release starting February 13th, check out the full list of dates!

Nicole Atkins released the first song from her excellent new record via Paste on Tuesday. “Girl You Look Amazing” is one of 12 fantastic songs that make up the neon noir tour de force of hi-def late-night pop she is calling Slow Phaser, out February 4 on her own Oh’Mercy! Records. The album marks Atkins’ most ingenious and indelibly modern collection to date. Bittersweet yet life affirming, Slow Phaser is Nicole Atkins at her confident and unpredictable best – spirited, sexy, and determinedly forward thinking. Atkins will begin touring on this record in February.

“I wanted to make something that no one’s ever heard before,” she says, “including myself.”

Listen to the first single “Girl You Look Amazing” on Paste

On Slow Phaser Atkins collaborated with veteran drummer/producer Jim Sclavunos (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, The Cramps, Teenage Jesus & The Jerks) and producer Tore Johannson (Franz Ferdinand, The Cardigans) – with whom she partnered on her now-classic 2007 debut, Neptune City. The album was recorded at Johansson’s residential Malmö, Sweden studio and with his able assistance, she devised a compelling new sonic approach, melding psychedelic energy, prog rock adventurism, after hours disco ambience, and the raw emotional purity of the finest country soul.

“It sounds large but not cluttered,” she says. “We only used four instruments and tracked everything live. Instead of layering on a bunch of strings and horns and bells, the idea was to try to make everything have such complex melodies that they fit together like a puzzle. Every little bit counts.”

Atkins stripped her traditional instrumentation to its core – Johansson handled bass duties, joined by The Cardigans’ Lars-Olaf Johansson on guitar, keyboardist Martin Gjerstad, and Asbury Park’s own Sam Bey behind the drum kit. Inventive and irresistible, Slow Phaser positively radiates with idiosyncrasy and a palpable sense of fully empowered musical discovery.

The dates for Atkins’ headlining tour are below:


13 – New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom

14 – Boston, MA – Brighton Music Hall

17 – Montreal, ONT – Divan Orange

18 – Toronto, ONT – Horseshoe Tavern

19 – Detroit, MI – Magic Stick

21 – Pittsburgh, PA – Club Café

22 – Chicago, IL – Beat Kitchen

23 – Madison, WI – High Noon

25 – St. Paul, MN – Turf Club


1 – Portland, OR – Wonder Ballroom

3 – San Francisco, CA – Slim’s

5 – Los Angeles, CA – Bootleg Theatre

6 – San Diego, CA – Soda Bar

8 – Phoenix, AZ – Musical Instrument Museum

12 – Oklahoma City, OK – The Conservatory

13 – 16 – SXSW

17 – Denton, TX – Dan’s Silverleaf

21 – Memphis, TN – Hi-Tone

22 – Nashville, TN – High Watt

23 – Atlanta, GA – Terminal West

25 – Charlotte, NC – Evening Muse

26 – Annapolis, MD – Ram’s Head

27 – Philadelphia, PA – Johnny Brenda’s

Leave a Reply