Psych Rockers, HEAVY GLOW, Explore Soul And Blues Influences

By Chris Dahlberg

Published on Sunday, March 16, 2014

Heavy Glow will release their newest album Pearls & Swine and Everything Fine on June 3rd. The group recorded the album in LA at Studio 9, and they have released the track “Mine All Mine” which you can check out below. This is the first time I had come across Heavy Glow’s material, but it made a strong first impression with the combination of fuzzier guitar grooves and that rawer edge that recalls some of rock ‘n roll’s earlier days. Check out more information about the band below!

Cleveland, OH, March 4, 2014 – Heavy Glow studio album produced by Michael Patterson (Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross, Beck, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, P. Diddy, Notorious B.I.G., Duran Duran) and Nic Jodoin (BRMC, The Morlocks, Nightmare Air) titled, Pearls & Swine and Everything Fine, is slated for June 3rd, 2014 release date. The band’s influences include Motown, Psychedelia, Grunge, Delta Blues, Country Blues, Chicago Blues. As frontman Jared Mullins explains “We dig 60s Detroit, 60s San Francisco, 70s Mid-West, 90s Seattle, 20s-40s Mississippi Delta, 50s Chicago/Chess Records.”

“If you dig just-barely-pre-metal hard rock in the manner of Blue Cheer, Cactus, Mountain, Humble Pie, and Mark II Deep Purple, turn off your ‘puter and go get this sizzlin’ slab right now…” writes Stash Dauber. KTVU Oakland adds “…Heavy Glow delivers a compelling, tuneful sound that mixes elements of head-nodding blues, swirling psychedelia and guitar heft.” The band “weds Grand Funk Railroad muscle with ‘80s guitar god finesse,” the Examiner opines.

The album was recorded in Los Angeles at Studio 9. Heavy Glow is Jared Mullins on vocals and guitars, Joe Brooks on bass and St. Judas on drums (touring drummer is Ryan Muller). “I honestly can’t wait for people to hear Pearls and Swine,” Mullins explains. “To me it’s a very raw but beautiful depiction of the decaying, dilapidated state of mind I was in while writing it. It’s as close as chaos and creation can be.”

Cincinnati City Beat reports that album track “Headhunter” was recently played by the local disc jockey character in CBS’s Under the Dome (season one, episode two), which resulted in a virtual tidal wave of attention for Heavy Glow, a perfect publicity metaphor for the band’s volume, power and intensity.”

The ten tracks on Pearls & Swine and Everything Fine include 1. “45 Shakedown,” 2. “Look What You’re Doing To Me,” 3. “Mine All Mine,” 4. “Fat Cat,” 5. “Love Ghost,” 6. “Domino (Black Flowers),” 7. “Hello September (Goodbye April),” 8. “Got My Eye On You,” 9. “Nerve Endings” and 10. “Headhunter.” The album cover was designed by renowned artist Darren Grealish, whose work includes gig posters for Queens of the Stone Age and the Melvins and graces the walls of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. The band will tour the U.S. throughout the year.

Visit the band online at, on or on Twitter @heavyglowmusic.

Leave a Reply