Rökkurró’s new album INNRA available October 27th

By Chris Dahlberg

Published on Sunday, October 26, 2014

Iceland’s Rökkurró will release their new album Innra tomorrow, October 27th. This is the band’s third studio album, and finds them continuing to explore dreamier melodies that spread naturally over the course of a song. The music video for “The Backbone” can be seen below via YouTube, and I’m betting that once you hear this one you’ll want to explore further.

Iceland’s Rökkurró return with a new studio album Innra, followed by a slot at this year’s Iceland Airwaves in November and a series of tour dates in January, including Eurosonic Noordeslag. Innra proceeds the internationally acclaimed Í Annan Heim record which spent 100 weeks in the Icelandic chart’s Top 30 while international it garnered high praise from media such as NME, Clash, The Line of Best Fit, CMU Daily and the US’ KEXP Radio.

The three year gap between the two albums gave Rökkurró the space to meticulously expand their luscious pale[e into the beautiful, dreamy soundscapes that is Innra. New members Helga on piano and Skúli on bass have been added to the line-up and time spent by the bands members between Tokyo, London and Reykjavík inspired Rökkurró to record their first part-English speaking record.

The first teaser from Innra came in the form of English-speaking album track “Killing Time,” which premiered on The Line of Best Fit and featured on The Guardian’s blog late 2013, with the later describing the song as “warm, wonderfully textured number that finds stuttering rhythms judder underneath swelling instrumentals while the vocal’s unshakable sense of longing will lingers well after the song has finished.” The description is befitting for the album as a whole. The album’s second single, “The Backbone” yielded an US premiere on Under The Radar and a prominent feature on Q Magazine in UK.

There’s a new electronic element to Rökkurró’s, but one of sad synths mixed with gently textured, layered percussion. The result is a warm enveloping backdrop to singer Stefánsdóttir’s sad and at times subtly sultry vocals.

Produced by Helgi Hrafn Jónsson, Innra is self-released on 27th October 2014 on CD, Vinyl and Digitally.

1. Borders – 4:21

2. Weightless – 3:53

3. Sigling – 4:48

4. Killing Time – 3:00

5. The Backbone – 4:28

6. White Mountain – 4:38

7. The In Between – 2:19

8. Flugdrekar – 5:18

9. Blue Skies – 4:07

10. Hunger – 4:19

11. Red Sun – 4:30



6 November – Iceland Airwaves, Reykjavik, (ICE)

9 November – Iceland Airwaves, Reykjavik, (ICE)

16 January – Eurosonic Noorderslag, Groningen (NL)

18 January – So What, Gouda (NL)

19 January – Roter Salon, Berlin (GER)

20 January – Pod Minoga, Poznan (PL)


Preorder the album now on iTunes or Amazon.

Leave a Reply