Shannon Wright Announces New Album

By Chris Dahlberg

Published on Saturday, April 6, 2013

Shannon Wright has announced that her new album In Film Sound will be released on June 7th via Ernest Jenning Record Co.  Wright has been writing and releasing material as a solo artist for over thirteen years now and this latest material follow up 2010’s Secret Blood.  In advance of the release a single entitled “The Caustic Light” has been released via Soundcloud, which is embedded below.  The track’s the type that makes an immediate impression, as the jagged edges created by the guitar work instantly leaps out and grabs your attention.  This is the first exposure I’ve had to Shannon Wright personally, but if this song is any indication I’ll have to explore her material further.

In Film Sound features an esteemed rhythm section consisting of Shipping News members Kyle Crabtree (drums) and Todd Cook (bass) and was recorded this fall in Louisville, KY by Kevin Ratterman (My Morning JacketAndrew BirdMaserati) and mastered by Bob Weston at Chicago Mastering Services. It is Wright’s first new LP for Brooklyn’s Ernest Jenning Record Co. after a decade of work with esteemed Chicago imprint Touch and Go Records and a self-released 2010 LP. Wright has been out of the spotlight in America since her long time label shuttered, but in that time she has been active overseas where an adoring European audience has supported her from the start, and collaborations with cult composer Yann Tiersen have only increased her international profile. France’s Vicious Circle will also be releasing the album in Europe.


In Film Sound Tracklisting:

1. Noise Parade

2. The Caustic Light

3. Tax The Patients

4. Who’s Sorry Now

5. Bleed

6. Mire

7. Captive To Nowhere

8. Surely, They’ll Tear It Down

9.  Mason & Hamlin

Leave a Reply