SoftSpot announces new album ‘MASS,’ shares first single “You\Yours” via The FADER

By Chris Dahlberg

Published on Saturday, February 8, 2014

SoftSpot will release their sophomore album MASS on April 8th. The group has premiered the track “You\Yours” which can be streamed below. This song instantly grabbed me with its powerful vocal performance and softer guitar melodies. Check out additional details about the release below.

Brooklyn trio SoftSpot are set to release the follow up to their 2012 ‘Enso’ album. Their forthcoming record ‘MASS’ will be released on April 8.

Today the band shares the first taste of their upcoming album with the track “You\Yours.” Stream it over at The FADER.

Tour Dates:

02/28 Brooklyn, NY – Shea Stadium *
03/11 New York, NY – Pianos #

* = w/ Happy Jawbone Family Band, Great Valley and Cigarette
# = w/ Celestial Shore



SoftSpot is a trio of southern transplants based out of Bushwick, Brooklyn. Core members Sarah Kinlaw and Bryan Keller Jr formed the project in 2009 but the two have known each other since they met in North Carolina at the age of five. Native ATLien Blaze Bateh (BAMBARA) joined as a permanent member in early 2012. Being active creatives outside of the project, the band serves as a collaborative sonic extension of the artistic lives of each member.

2012 saw the self-release of their first proper 12″, Ensō. The effort is an intimate representation of a year of recording at their home. Containing two songs from the 2011 cassette only self-released ep NOUS, Ensō (the Japanese word for circle) can be played as a complete loop with the end meeting right back with the beginning.

MASS was recorded in a makeshift studio isolated in the Appalachian Mountains of North Carolina by friend and longtime partner Colin Alexander. With some additional work done back in Brooklyn, the record delves in the dichotomy of modern life in the city and the members’ southern roots. Artist Jonathan Campolo has done the art for both records, and is now performing live with the band.

SoftSpot has done extensive touring throughout the Southeast and some of the Midwest and Canada throughout the past three and a half years.


Street Date: April 8, 2014


Track List:

1. King Porus
2. You/Yours
3. Black Room Blues
4. Gathering
5. Pickup Lines
6. Crosswinds
7. Hera
8. The New York Times






Leave a Reply