Spirits and the Melchizedek Chldren Announce March 4 Release – One of “Atlanta’s Greatest Rock Acts”

By Chris Dahlberg

Published on Thursday, December 12, 2013

Atlanta’s Spirits and the Melchizedek Children will release their new album So Happy, It’s Sad on March 4th via Creative Loafing. The album will feature an appearance from Royal Thunder’s Mlny Parsonz. New music hasn’t been released just yet, but I have embedded the group’s last full length below so you can have an idea of what they sound like. If you’re in Georgia, Spirits and the Melchizedek Children will be playing in Athens tomorrow (December 13th) and Atlanta Saturday (December 14th). Details below.

Dec. 12, 2013, Atlanta – Spirits and the Melchizedek Children release So Happy, It’s Sad, an eight-song album, on March 4.

The Atlanta-based sextet, led by charismatic singer/guitar player Jason Elliott, recorded So Happy, It’s Sad at Studilaroche earlier this year. “This record is quite the celebration of the bittersweet experience that we all face throughout our lives,” explained Elliott. “Somewhat of a letter from us to you. I would hope that you can take the wonderfully awful elements in your life and reframe them into something peaceful.”

Having become one of Atlanta’s most talked about rock bands, often singled out alongside hometown darlings Royal Thunder as the two area bands to keep an eye on (Royal Thunder’s Mlny Parsonz contributes vocals to So Happy, It’s Sad). Creative Loafing Music Editor Chad Radford said SAMTC create “a sparse, ghostly, art-folk din that moves from a 4 a.m. whisper of distant, lonely strumming and moaning to a roar of tape hiss.”


So Happy, It’s Sad track listing:

1. Lullabies for War
2. Song Bird’s Grave
3. Land Tied
4. Lost & Found
5. Throw Me To My Knees
6. So Happy, It’s Sad
7. Copper Feather
8. Past, Present, Future

The band will be touring North America throughout 2014. A pair of Georgia dates are on deck for this weekend: Dec. 13 at The Caledonia Lounge (Athens) and Dec. 14 at Mammal Gallery (Atlanta).

Spirits and the Melchizedek Children are: Jason Elliott (vocals/guitar), Chris Case (keyboards), Bryan Fielden (drums), Andrew Burnes (guitar), Joe McNeill (bass) and Ryan Odom (guitar).


Leave a Reply