Big Night Out Tour 2013

By Chip Tamplin

Published on Monday, August 5, 2013


Despite being a casual fan since their debut album, this was only the second time I’d seen them perform. The previous time was definitely not a good first impression. They sounded terrible back then. Perhaps it was an off night, a bad sound mix or any there excuse there is. Thankfully this show was a drastic improvement. The entire band seemed less than enthusiastic to be there, but that could’ve also been due to the small crowd turnout.

Despite all that, Trapt sounded pretty solid. Vocalist Chris Taylor Brown seemed like he was having a bit more fun than the rest of the band but I was glad to see that he sounded so much better than the previous times I saw them. They got a pretty lengthy set fitting in a good range of songs from their catalog. The crowd definitely got more into their set once they started playing “Echo” and “Headstrong”.

Vocals: 8.5
Crowd Response: 6
Overall Sound: 8
Band Activity: 5
Overall rating: 7.5

Set list:

1. Who’s Going Home With You Tonight?
2. Waiting
3. Bring It
4. Contagious
5. Echo
6. Love-Hate Relationship
7. Black Rose
8. Still Frame
9. Headstrong


Alien Ant Farm:

Despite the love I have for Hoobastank, Alien Ant Farm was my main reason for wanting to cover this show. Sure, Alien Ant Farm has been off the grid for awhile, but I’m glad to see them making a comeback. They’ll have a new album out in two months I believe called Always and Forever. “AAF, just like Alien Ant Farm. We’re always and forever,” said vocalist Dryden Mitchell.

I couldn’t believe how great they sounded live too. Not only did they sound great, but they looked like they were having a lot of fun being back and rocking people again. Bassist Tye Zamora was especially fun to photograph and watch play. The band played a great range of songs but “Movies” and “Smooth Criminal” were definitely the sets crowd pleasers. I really hope I start seeing them on more tours soon!

Vocals: 9
Crowd Response: 8
Overall Sound: 9.5
Band Activity: 9.5
Overall rating: 9.5

Set list:

1. Courage
2. What I Feel Is Mine
3. Let Em Know
4. Movies
5. Sympatico
6. Attitude
7. Glow
8. Sticks and Stones
9. Smooth Criminal [Michael Jackson cover]



I used to be a big fan of Hoobastank. Their first two albums – Hoobastank and The Reason – were two of my favorite albums back In the day, but sadly I hadn’t kept up with them as diligently as I should have. The first and only time I got to see Hoobastank was at Rock on the Range 2009 and they were pretty mediocre then, but I’d always chocked it up to the terrible sound mix that had plagued all of the main stage bands in 2009 and 2010, and this show reaffirmed for me that that was a one-time issue.

Hoobastank sounded phenomenal at this show. Vocalist Doug Robb had more energy than anyone and while he wasn’t doing backflips from the scaffolding or anything insane, he just had this upbeat mentality throughout their set and they definitely brought out some great energy from the crowd. The whole set was great but the final three songs being “Crawling in the Dark”, “The Reason” and “Out of Control” was just a fantastic 1-2-3 punch to end their set. They may not be as popular as the height of their popularity, but it’s great to seeing a great rock band still loving what they do.

Vocals: 10
Crowd Response: 9
Overall Sound: 9.5
Band Activity: 9
Overall rating: 10

Set list:

1. This is Gonna Hurt
2. Same Direction
3. You Before Me
4. Running Away
5. The First of Me
6. Pieces
7. No Destination
8. Inside of You
9. Slow Down
10. Incomplete
11. Crawling in the Dark
12. The Reason
13. Out of Control



I’ve never really been a big fan of Fuel, but I will admit they were great at this show. Aside from a minor technical glitch following their second song that forced them to leave the stage for a few minutes, they did a great job of rocking the few thousand that showed up to this Celebrate Virginia event.

For those unfamiliar with the layout, it starts off at the back with a general admission area where fans can set up chairs and relax and as you get closer to the stage they have two areas with seats set up, the closest section right before the stage featured about 5 rows and referred to as the “Golden Circle”. Following the technical issue, vocalist and guitarist Brent Scallions urged security to do away with all sections and let everyone come up as close to the front as they wanted. The crowd went nuts (in a peaceful way, mind you) and the set only got better from there. Plowing through some of their biggest songs, Fuel definitely put on one of the best sets of the night.

Vocals: 9
Crowd Response: 10
Overall Sound: 9
Band Activity: 9
Overall rating: 9.5

Set list:

1. Last Time
2. Empty Spaces
3. Prove
4. Falls on Me
5. Bad Day
6. Shimmer
7. Bittersweet
8. Untitled
9. Jesus or a Gun
10. Daniel
11. Hemorrhage (In My Hands)

Photos (Bands Listed in Alphabetical Order):

Leave a Reply