Music As A Weapon 2011

By Chip Tamplin

Published on Sunday, January 23, 2011

Chip Tamplin had the chance to check out the 2011 Music As A Weapon tour, featuring Korn, Disturbed, Sevendust and In This Moment. Check below for his impressions and photos from the performance.

In This Moment:

I’ve had the opportunity to see In This Moment perform several times over the course of their tenure in the rock world and, for the most part, I’ve felt they were subpar at best. This time, however, they seemed substantially better in every facet of their performance including singer Maria Brink’s vocals, which were abysmal during the summer Mayhem Festival.

Their set was short (only five songs) but they managed to make their time count, utilizing some of their hardest songs and making attempts to incite mosh pits in the crowd. Unfortunately for them, security actually enforced the “no moshing/crowd surfing” signs scattered around Giant Center.

Despite their inability to properly get the crowd involved, they were given a generous ovation when their set was over and seemed generally accepted by the crowd at large.

Vocals: 7
Crowd Response: 7
Overall Sound: 8
Band Activity: 9
Overall Rating: 8

Set list:

1. lazin
2. Standing Alone
3. The Rabbit Hole
4. The Promise
5. The Gun Show


There’s no way to properly prepare for the full-scale onslaught of energy that Sevendust brings with them for every show. Front man Lajon Witherspoon ended their set saying, “You can love us, you can hate us but you can’t fucking ignore us.” That credo is probably the most accurate way to describe what a Sevendust show is truly like.

One of the things I like most about Sevendust is that they don’t need crazy visuals/props etc to make an exciting atmosphere for their fans. They just get up on stage and play their asses off. Playing hits spanning their entire catalogue, Sevendust rocked the Giant Center for roughly forty minutes and got the crowded warmed up nicely for Disturbed. Sadly though, Sevendust blew both headliners off the stage both in quality and energy.

Vocals: 9
Crowd Response: 9
Overall Sound: 9
Band Activity: 10
Overall Rating: 9

Set list:

1. Splinte
2. Black
3. Driven
4. Forever
5. Pieces
6. Praise
7. Face to Face


While Music as a Weapon is Disturbed’s tour, they decided to make it a co-headlining endeavor this year by adding Korn to the billing. Each night of the tour Korn and Disturbed alternated the headlining spot, even though both bands were given hour-long sets.

While they sounded spot-on musically, singer David Draiman’s vocals left a lot to be desired. I’ve seen Disturbed enough over the years to know this was somewhat of a fluke, but it was still a bit disappointing. Aside from the vocals, there was a lot of intensity from the band, including a giant screen placed behind drummer Mike Wengren displaying various visuals to correspond with whatever song they were doing at the time. I was happy Korn headlined over Disturbed because Draiman’s vocals ruined the set for me.

Vocals: 7
Crowd Response: 10
Overall Sound: 9
Band Activity: 9
Overall Rating: 8

Set list:

1. Remnants
2. Asylum
3. The Game
4. Prayer
5. Liberate
6. The Animal
7. Inside the Fire
8. Stricken
9. Another Way to Die
10. Stupify
11. Ten Thousand Fists
12. Indestructible
13. Down With The Sickness


Korn have caught a lot of flak over the last few years. With only 3/5 original members, the lack of core musicians has clearly affected their sound dramatically. Not just on their newer albums, but in their live performances as well. I remember seeing Korn in 2004 when they still had all original members in the band and how amazing they were at the time. Now I have a hard time sitting through their live performances because they’ve gotten progressively worse every time I’ve seen them since.

Still, the band had such a profound impact on me when I was younger that I feel compelled to see them every time they come around, if for no other reason than nostalgia.

Korn’s singer, Jonathon Davis celebrated his 40th birthday early on in the set, with guitarist Munky playing little snippets of “happy birthday” on the guitar.

Overall their set wasn’t bad. They played a good amount of hits including a mash up of eight songs for their final song. JD’s vocals were spotty from time to time during the set, but he was sound overall and there was a lot of energy coming from not only band mates Munky and Fieldy, but also the crowd.

Vocals: 8
Crowd Response: 10
Overall Sound: 9
Band Activity: 10
Overall Rating: 8.5

Set list:

1. Blind
2. Here to Stay
3. Pop a Pill
4. Freak on a Leash
5. Shoots and Ladders / One
6. Got the Life
7. Alone I Break
8. Oildale (Leave Me Alone)
9. Falling Away From Me
10. Coming Undone / We Will Rock You / Twisted Transistor / Make Me Bad / Thoughtless / Did My Time / Clown / Y’All Want a Single

Photos (Bands Listed in Alphabetical Order):

Leave a Reply