Rob Zombie/Megadeth/Lacuna Coil at Merriweather Post Pavilion

By Chip Tamplin

Published on Thursday, May 17, 2012

Rob Zombie and Megadeth are in the middle of a nationwide tour with Lacuna Coil acting as support. The tour came to Merriweather Post Pavilion on May 13th and Chip Tamplin was on hand to check it out.

Lacuna Coil:

Despite being a fan for almost a decade, this was the first time I’d ever gotten to see Italy natives Lacuna Coil. Vocalists Christina Scabbia and Andrea Ferro have great chemistry together onstage and their vocal styles accentuate one another very well. Despite a lackluster crowd, they seemed to be having a lot of fun on stage and did a great job in getting them into their set especially during songs “Heaven’s A Lie” and “Give Me Something More”.

Even though their sound mix was a little off – it was almost impossible to hear Ferro’s vocals – I still had a lot of fun during their set and they were definitely worth the wait.

Vocals: 9
Crowd Response: 8
Overall Sound: 8.5
Band Activity: 9.5
Overall Rating: 9


1. I Don’t Believe in Tomorrow
2. Survive
3. Kill the Light
4. Heaven’s A Lie
5. Our Truth
6. Upsidedown
7. Give Me Something More
8. Trip the Darkness
9. Spellbound


I know I’ve said it before and I’ll probably say it again but: I really can’t stand Dave Mustaine. I’m sure he’s a nice person, but his vocals are some of if not the worst in all of metal. Hearing him sing actually makes me physically cringe. I love Megadeth’s music and I think he’s a phenomenal guitarist, but the only way I can legitimately listen to Megadeth is fast forwarding through his vocals.

This is the fourth time I’ve covered Megadeth and every time I can never hear his vocals. I’m not sure if he’s just a quiet person or if his vocal volume is lowered on purpose (thank God), but the only time I can even remotely hear him on stage is between songs when he’s pandering to the crowd, and even then I can barely make out what he’s saying.

With that said, his guitar work is vastly impressive, as is co-guitarist Chris Broderick’s. Overall this was a much better set than they normally play and a definite improvement.

Vocals: 3
Crowd Response: 10
Overall Sound: 8
Band Activity: 8.5
Overall Rating: 8


1. Never Dead
2. Head Crusher
3. In My Darkest Hour
4. Hangar 18
5. Trust
6. She-Wolf
7. Sweating Bullets
8. A Tout Le Monde
9. Whose Life (It It Anyways?)
10. Public Enemy No. 1
11. Symphony of Destruction
12. Peace Sells


13. Holy Wars…The Punishment Due

Rob Zombie:

I’ve always loved seeing Rob Zombie, but I’ve also always hated photographing Zombie. Awful lighting makes for a waste of time for us photographers. Still, few shows beat the theatrics of the shock rocking super star. Sadly, he’s pretty much performed the exact same set list for the last three years without any real deviation and while the songs on the set list aren’t bad, hardcore fans are feeling a little snubbed.

Guitarist John 5 is quite the character and by far my favorite member of the band. For such a quiet and reclusive guy in his personal life, it’s amazing how zaney and wild he is while he’s on stage. Bassist Piggy D remains mostly stationary for the set, but his mask his awesome. After the departure of Joey Jordison behind the kit, Ginger Fish has taken over the reigns. His drum work isn’t anything to write home about, but few people can compare to Jordison’s work anyway.

Overall, a great set from Zombie, even if it was the exact same show from three years ago.

Vocals: 9
Crowd Response: 10
Overall Sound: 9.5
Band Activity: 10
Overall Rating: 9.5


1. Jesus Frankenstein
2. Superbeast
3. Scum of the Earth
4. Never Gonna Stop (The Red, Red Kroovy)
5. Living Dead Girl
6. More Human Than Human [White Zombie cover]
7. Demonoid Phenomenan
8. Mars Needs Women
9. Sick Bubble-Gum
10. Pussy Liquor
11. Thunder Kiss ’65 [White Zombie cover]


12. Dragula

Photos (Bands Listed in Alphabetical Order):

Leave a Reply